BWM Architects

De Suche Menu
Exhibition opening: Higher powers

18 May 2021

Exhibition opening: Higher powers

The current spring exhibition “Higher Powers” shown at the Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien is designed by BWM Architekten and dedicated to how different civilizations and historical periods believe(d) in the existence of higher powers. On show from today, 18 May to 15 August under the title “Higher Powers. People, Gods and elements of nature.” (photo: Daniel Auer © KHM-Museumsverband)

Higher Powers.
Kenneth Hudson Award for the House of Austrian History

10 May 2021

Kenneth Hudson Award for the House of Austrian History

The House of Austrian History (hdgö) designed by BWM Architekten has been awarded the Kenneth Hudson Award 2020 of the European Museum of the Year Award for “civil courage, honesty and intellectual clarity”. We are so happy!

House of Austrian History (hdgö)
Johann Moser
If one sees the path from Heldenplatz up the magnificent staircase into the House of Austrian History as a journey – accompanied by architecture – through time into the present, I hope that after visiting the exhibition, as they walk back through those same monumental rooms, the visitors may have a changed, more forward-looking perspective …
Johann Moser
The Papyrus Museum in new splendor.

28 April 2021

The Papyrus Museum in new splendor.

Today the press conference for the reopening of the Papyrus Museum after the relaunch by BMW Architects took place at the Austrian National Library - with ONB CEO Johanna Rachinger, Museum Director Bernhard Palme and Johann Moser of BWM Architekten. The museum will be open again from May 4.

Papyrus Museum
New Exhibition Design 03

22 April 2021

New Exhibition Design 03

The new volume of the successful series presents the status quo in exhibition design and scenography with over 110 projects and 15 interviews. The focus is on current trends and corresponding methods, well-known firms, exceptional designers and curators. Order here.

Guided architecture tour of the opera …

11 February 2021

Guided architecture tour of the opera …

As the competition winners, BWM Architekten developed an open concept for a versatile, forward-looking visitor centre in the opera house. Currently the Vienna State Opera offers guided art and architecture tours from Fridays to Sundays, also leading through the new foyer.

Visitor’s centre at the Vienna State Opera
Railway legend at the Technisches Museum Wien

11 January 2021

Railway legend at the Technisches Museum Wien

The largest, heaviest, most powerful and fastest steam locomotive ever built in Austria is back at the Technisches Museum Wien from 12 October. Within an exhibition designed by BWM, in addition to the carefully restored original an interactive video installation brings this legend of the Austrian railway history to new life.

The 12.10.
Daniela Walten
Since BWM’s founding, it has evolved to encompass a wide range of business areas that complement one another, in turn creating real added value.
Daniela Walten
Ein Raum wie eine Bühne...

9 December 2020

Ein Raum wie eine Bühne...

BWM Architekten haben mit der Neugestaltung des Besucherzentrums der Bundestheater Holding in der Wiener Staatsoper einen repräsentativen Raum geschaffen, der als Treffpunkt für die Musikwelt Wiens dienen soll und gleichermaßen die Grenzen zwischen Hochkultur und städtischem Leben aufhebt – mit heute wurde der neue Standort geöffnet. (Foto © Severin Wurnig)

Visitor’s centre at the Vienna State Opera
One more time to the „old“ Papyrus Museum...

1 October 2020

One more time to the „old“ Papyrus Museum...

The last chance to visit the “old” Papyrus Museum of the Austrian National Library will be on the 3 and 4 October in the framework of the “ORF-Museumszelt”. After that it will be closed and given a relaunch according to plans by BWM Architekten. The renewed and considerably enlarged museum will be open again for the interested public in March 2021.

Papyrus Museum
Johann Moser
The message is clear: “Future energy is you!” Human beings can engage their energy to actively participate in discussions and tackle pressing environmental issues.
Johann Moser
In Between …

27 April 2020

In Between …

The House of Austrian History (hdgö) designed by BWM presents a new website and the digital exhibition „In Between: Photographs of 1945“ and offers numerous interactive activities.

House of Austrian History (hdgö)
A place of interchange

15 April 2020

A place of interchange

EIKON, the international magazine for photography and media art has created the „Schauraum" at the Vienna Museumsquartier, a freely accessible offprint exhibition and discussion location. It has been adapted according to the plans by BWM Architekten and: it is possible to make a short -for now- digital tour here.

BWM Architekten

En Suche Menu
Ausstellungseröffnung: Höhere Mächte

18 Mai 2021

Ausstellungseröffnung: Höhere Mächte

Von der Hinwendung zu höheren Mächten in verschiedensten Kulturen und Epochen erzählt die aktuelle Frühjahrsausstellung des Kunsthistorischen Museums Wien – gestaltet von BWM Architekten (im Bild Johann Moser, Kinga Baluch und Martina Berger). Ab heute 18. Mai bis 15. August unter dem Titel "Höhere Mächte. Von Menschen, Göttern und Naturgewalten." (Foto: Daniel Auer © KHM-Museumsverband)

Höhere Mächte.
Kenneth Hudson Award für hdgö

10 Mai 2021

Kenneth Hudson Award für hdgö

Das Haus der Geschichte Österreich (hdgö) – gestaltet von BWM Architekten – wurde bei der Verleihung der European Museum of the Year Awards für beeindruckende „Zivilcourage, Ehrlichkeit und intellektuelle Klarheit“ mit dem Kenneth Hudson Award 2020 ausgezeichnet. Wir freuen uns!

Haus der Geschichte Österreich (hdgö)
Johann Moser
Betrachtet man den Weg vom Heldenplatz durchs Prunkstiegenhaus ins Haus der Geschichte Österreich als architektonisch begleitete Reise durch die Zeit in die Gegenwart, so hoffe ich, dass nach dem Besuch der Ausstellung, beim Weg zurück durch die gleichen monumentalen Räumlichkeiten, der Blick des Besuchers möglicherweise doch ein veränderter, jedenfalls keiner zurück ins Gestern, sein möge …
Johann Moser
Papyrusmuseum in neuem Glanz

28 April 2021

Papyrusmuseum in neuem Glanz

Heute fand die Pressekonferenz zur Wiedereröffnung des Papyrusmuseums nach dem großen Relaunch by BMW Architekten in der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek statt – mit ONB-Generaldirektorin Johanna Rachinger, Museumdirektor Bernhard Palme und Johann Moser von BWM Architekten. Das Museum ist ab 4. Mai wieder geöffnet.

Papyrusmuseum
Neue Ausstellungsgestaltung 03

22 April 2021

Neue Ausstellungsgestaltung 03

Der aktuelle Band der erfolgreichen Serie präsentiert mit über 110 Projekten und 15 Interviews den Stand der Dinge in Exhibition Design und Szenografie. Im Zentrum stehen aktuelle Trends und entsprechende Methoden, bekannte Büros, herausragende Gestalter und Kuratoren. Hier bestellen.

Architektur-Rundgang durch die Oper …

11 Februar 2021

Architektur-Rundgang durch die Oper …

Als Gewinner des Wettbewerbs haben BWM Architekten für das Besucherzentrum in der Wiener Staatsoper ein offenes Konzept für eine zukunftsfähige, vielseitige Bespielung entwickelt. Aktuell bietet die Wiener Staatsoper jeweils freitags bis sonntags Kunst- und Architektur-Rundgänge, u.a. durch das neue Foyer.

Besucherzentrum in der Wiener Staatsoper
Eisenbahn-Legende im Technischen Museum

11 Januar 2021

Eisenbahn-Legende im Technischen Museum

Die größte, schwerste, stärkste und schnellste Dampflokomotive, die jemals in Österreich gebaut wurde, die 12.10. ist zurück im Technischen Museum. In einer von BWM gestalteten Ausstellung erweckt neben dem aufwendig restaurierten Original eine interaktive Videoinstallation diese Legende der österreichischen Eisenbahngeschichte zu neuem Leben.

Die 12.10
Daniela Walten
Aus der Geschichte heraus haben sich bei BWM verschiedene Geschäftsfelder entwickelt, die sich gegenseitig beeinflussen, wodurch wiederum ein echter Mehrwert entsteht.
Daniela Walten
Ein Raum wie eine Bühne...

9 Dezember 2020

Ein Raum wie eine Bühne...

BWM Architekten haben mit der Neugestaltung des Besucherzentrums der Bundestheater Holding in der Wiener Staatsoper einen repräsentativen Raum geschaffen, der als Treffpunkt für die Musikwelt Wiens dienen soll und gleichermaßen die Grenzen zwischen Hochkultur und städtischem Leben aufhebt – mit heute wurde der neue Standort geöffnet. (Foto © Severin Wurnig)

Besucherzentrum in der Wiener Staatsoper
Noch einmal ins Papyrusmuseum …

1 Oktober 2020

Noch einmal ins Papyrusmuseum …

Die letzte Möglichkeit, das "alte" Papyrusmuseum der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek zu besichtigen, besteht am 3. und 4. Oktober 2020 im Rahmen der ORF-Museumszeit. Danach wird es geschlossen und nach Plänen von BWM Architekten einem großen Relaunch unterzogen. Das erneuerte und deutlich erweiterte Museum steht ab März 2021 wieder allen Interessierten offen.

Papyrusmuseum
Johann Moser
Die Botschaft lautet: „Future Energy is you!“ Der Mensch als Energiequelle kann sich aktiv an den Debatten beteiligen und zur Bewältigung der anstehenden Umweltfragen beitragen.
Johann Moser
Zwischen den Zeiten …

27 April 2020

Zwischen den Zeiten …

Das von BWM gestaltete Haus der Geschichte Österreich (hdgö) lädt mit neuer Website und virtueller Ausstellung "Zwischen den Zeiten: 1945 in Bildern " sowie zahlreichen interaktiven Aktionen ein.

Haus der Geschichte Österreich (hdgö)
Ort des Austausches

15 April 2020

Ort des Austausches

EIKON, die internationale Zeitschrift für Photograhie und Medienkunst, hat mit ihrem Schauraum im Wiener MuseumsQuartier einen frei zugänglichen Ausstellungs- und Diskussionsort offprint geschaffen. Dieser wurde nach Plänen von BWM adaptiert, ein kleiner – vorerst – digitaler Rundgang ist hier möglich.