BWM Architects

De Suche Menu
Das Salz
Das Salz
Das Salz
Das Salz
Das Salz
Das Salz
Das Salz
Das Salz
Das Salz

BWM Architekten have converted a former residential building into a contemporary, urban boutique hotel in collaboration with moodley brand identity in Lehen, a vibrant, up-and-coming district in the city of Salzburg. Das Salz is an homage to Salzburg, reflecting the city’s identity as well as the history and traditions of its surrounding region. This concept permeates the entire hotel, making it a place for people who are curious and who love to explore – surprising and full of anecdotes, and always elegant.

At the beginning of May 2022, the brand-new 30-room boutique hotel Das Salz opened its doors. Located in a former residential building dating back to the 1920s, the hotel is geared towards people whose interest in the city goes beyond the Mozart, The Sound of Music, and baroque opulence. The up-and-coming Lehen district is the perfect point of departure for getting to know other facets of Salzburg. “The hotel is definitely an homage to Salzburg, but not in an obvious way,” says Erich Bernard of BWM Architekten. “Rather, subtly integrated details and elements typical of Salzburg establish a connection with the city and what it stands for.”

Erich Bernard
The hotel is definitely an homage to Salzburg, but not in an obvious way.
Erich Bernard

The city is a stage

In the guest rooms, the natural stone shelves and the stools reminiscent of those found in traditional milking stables are just two such details. The lathed table legs are a tongue-in-cheek reference to traditional farmhouse parlours and the excellent craftsmanship to be found in the Salzburg region. Similarly, the curvature of the bed’s headboard is a reference to the rustic beds typical of rural Salzburg. The rear side of the headboard, on the other hand, alludes to the city’s role as host of the world-renowned Salzburg Festival: it has an integrated mirror and vanity table with lightbulbs along its edge, calling to mind a performer’s dressing room. The wooden floor is a reference to the boards of a stage.

Raise the curtain!

The light curtains in Café Tagesbar by MUS also reflect this theme. They adorn both the street-facing side and the wall leading downstairs to the lounge and working space and are draped like open stage curtains. The café chairs are made from mirrored aluminium, which optically enlarges the space and blends in with the other materials. In the guest rooms, the built-in vanity units under the basin and the dressing table have a similar effect.

Upon entering the hotel, visitors pass an elongated bar counter that extends into the 30-seat Tagescafé, even across a difference in level. It is clad with various types of natural stone, such as Black Sea marble and hand-made terracotta tiles. In the mornings, the breakfast buffet is also set up here. After passing the bar counter, guests find themselves in a cosy alcove that sets itself apart from the other areas thanks to its mauve colour scheme. This prime spot also affords a view of the green courtyard, which transforms into a charming al fresco café area with 16 seats on warm days. When the café on the ground floor closes for the night, a day & night lounge downstairs awaits with spacious seating and a community table.

Authentic materials & playful references

BWM Architekten attached great importance to using traditional, authentic materials throughout. This approach informed the decision to use only real wood, for instance. Warm hues like rust and terracotta dominate the overall colour scheme, but they are interrupted by colour accents such as bright yellow light switches, wall sockets, the inside of the drawers and the walls in the lavatories, and by modern, chrome-plated fittings on the bathtubs and basins. The corridors with their forest-green walls also provide contrast.

Das Salz is speckled with playful details, such as old-fashioned telephones, and amusing anecdotes that celebrate Salzburg and fit the bill of the hotel’s motto – “an invitation for the curious soul”. The brand strategy was developed by moodley brand identity; the interior design and brand profile of the hotel are closely intertwined and form an inseparable unit.

Task
Interior design for a hotel in Salzburg with 30 guest rooms and a café

Status
Completion 05/2022

Location
Salzburg

Client
VO Immobilien

BWM Team
Erich Bernard, Rita Guggenberger, Katrin Stefanzl, Ismail Berkel, Tanja Hainzl

Image credit
BWM Architekten/ Michael Königshofer

Participants

Branding
moodley brand identity gmbh

Project partner in the conceptual stage
Atelier Peter Weisz

Lighting
Pokorny Lichtarchitektur

Landscape design
Simma Zimmermann Landschaftsarchitektinnen OG

Implementing architecture firm
Architekturbüro DI Stefan Mayrhauser & Mag.arch. Alexander Kollmann

Joinery
Uedl GmbH

Press

12 May 2022

stammgast.online

Hotel das SALZ eröffnet in Salzburg Lehen

Link

BWM Architekten

En Suche Menu
Das Salz
Das Salz
Das Salz
Das Salz
Das Salz
Das Salz
Das Salz
Das Salz
Das Salz
Das Salz
Das Salz
Das Salz
Das Salz

Im gleichermaßen aufstrebenden wie belebten Salzburger Stadtteil Lehen verwandelten BWM Architekten gemeinsam mit moodley brand identity ein ehemaliges Wohnhaus in ein urbanes und zeitgemäßes Boutique-Hotel. Das Salz versteht sich als Hommage an Salzburg, an die Identität der Festspielstadt und an die Geschichte und Traditionen ihres Umlandes. Ein Konzept, das sich durch das gesamte Haus zieht und es zu einem Ort für Neugierige und einem Zuhause für Entdeckungsreisende macht, voller kleiner Geschichten, unerwartet und stets elegant.

Untergebracht in einem Wohnhaus aus den 1920er Jahren, hat Anfang Mai 2022 das funkelnagelneue Boutique-Hotel Das Salz mit seinen 30 Zimmern eröffnet. Angesprochen wird eine Klientel, die sich für die Stadt auch abseits der üblichen Salzburg-Klischees von Mozart, Sound of Music und barocker Pracht interessiert. Dafür ist der aufstrebende Stadtteil Lehen die geradezu ideale Ausgangsbasis. „Das Haus soll sehr wohl eine Hommage an Salzburg sein“, sagt Erich Bernard von BWM Architekten, „allerdings nicht auf eine rein plakative Art.“ Vielmehr sollen gewisse, diskret eingefügte Salzburg-typische Details und Elemente einen durchgehenden Bezug zur Stadt schaffen und zu dem, wofür sie steht.

Erich Bernard
Das Haus soll sehr wohl eine Hommage an Salzburg sein, allerdings nicht auf eine rein plakative Art.
Erich Bernard

Die Stadt als Bühne

So finden sich etwa in den Zimmern Wandbords aus Naturstein sowie Hocker, die an bäuerliche Melkschemel erinnern. Von den Beinen der Tische ist jeweils eines gedrechselt, was zum einen mit einem Augenzwinkern auf die traditionellen Bauernstuben des Salzburger Landes verweist. Und zum anderen eine Huldigung an die Salzburger Handwerkskunst darstellt. Ähnlich verhält es sich mit dem Betthaupt, das dank seiner Schwingung auf traditionelle Bauernbetten verweist. Auf Salzburg als Festspielstadt bezieht sich indessen die Rückseite des Bettbords mit Spiegel und Schminktisch – dieser ist mit Glühbirnen umrandet und schafft so insgesamt den Eindruck einer Künstlergarderobe. Gleichfalls einen Bezug zu den Brettern der Bühne vermittelt der Holzboden.

Vorhang auf!

Auf dasselbe Thema beziehen sich die netzartigen Vorhänge im Café Tagesbar by MUS im Eingangsbereich. Sowohl zur Straße hin als auch an der Wand, die bis ins Untergeschoss führt, wo sich Lounge und Working Space befindet, sind die Vorhänge so drapiert, dass sie an sich öffnende Bühnenvorhänge erinnern. Café-Stühle aus verspiegeltem Aluminium erweitern optisch den Raum und fügen sich harmonisch in die homogene Materialwelt ein. Ein Effekt, für den auch die Unterbauten der Waschbecken sowie die Schubladen der Schminktische in den Zimmern sorgen.

Beginnend im Eingangsbereich, zieht sich die langgezogene Bar über den Niveausprung hinaus bis ins Tagescafé mit seinen 35 Sitzplätzen. Verkleidet ist die Bar mit unterschiedlichen Natursteinen wie dem Schwarzenseer Marmor sowie handgemachten Terrakotta-Fliesen. Auf ihr wird morgens auch das Frühstück angerichtet. An ihrem Ende gelangt man in eine gemütliche Nische, die sich obendrein durch ihr Farbspiel in Mauve vom Rest des Lokals abhebt. Von hier öffnet sich der Blick in einen begrünten Innenhof, der an warmen Tagen als Schanigarten mit 16 Sitzplätzen genutzt wird. Nach Sperrstunde des Cafés im Erdgeschoss erwartet die Gäste im Untergeschoss eine Day & Night Lounge mit großzügigem Loungemöbel Gemeinschafts-Hochtisch.

Echte Materialien& spielerische Referenzen

Großen Wert wurde auf die Verwendung durchwegs traditioneller, authentischer Materialen gelegt, es wurde etwa ausschließlich mit Echtholz gearbeitet. Die vorherrschenden warmen Farben wie z.B. Rost- und Terracotta-Töne werden immer wieder durch überraschende Farbtupfer unterbrochen, darunter etwa knallgelbe Lichtschalter, Steckdosen, das Innere der Schubladen und die Toilettenwände sowie moderne, verchromte Armaturen im Bad und am Waschbecken. Oder auch die Korridore in sattem Waldgrün.

Gleichfalls als Hommage an Salzburg verstehen sich liebevoll verspielte Details und humorvolle Anekdoten, die sich unter dem Motto „An invitation for the curious soul“ durch das gesamte Hotel ziehen. So laden etwa Accessoires wie z.b. alte Telefone zu erfrischenden kleinen Spielereien ein. Die Markenstrategie kommt von moodley brand identity, Interior Design und Markenauftritt des Hotels sind aus einem Guß und greifen harmonisch ineinander über.

Aufgabe
Interior Design für ein Hotel in Salzburg mit 30 Zimmern & Cafe

Status
Fertigstellung 05/2022

Standort
Salzburg

Auftraggeber
VO Immobilien

BWM Team
Erich Bernard, Rita Guggenberger, Katrin Stefanzl, Ismail Berkel, Tanja Hainzl

Bildnachweis
BWM Architekten/ Michael Königshofer

Projektbeteiligte

Branding
moodley brand identity gmbh

Projetkpartner in Konzeptphase
Atelier Peter Weisz

Lichtplanung
Pokorny Lichtarchitektur

Landschaftsplanunng
Simma Zimmermann Landschaftsarchitektinnen OG

Ausführendes Architekturbüro
Architekturbüro DI Stefan Mayrhauser & Mag.arch. Alexander Kollmann

Tischler
Uedl GmbH

Presse

21 Juni 2022

Gastro

Digital ist normal

PDF

10 Juni 2022

A-List

Das Salz: Hotel für Entdecker in Salzburg

Link PDF

24 Mai 2022

Genusszeit.at

Neu: Hotel Das Salz

Link

12 Mai 2022

stammgast.online

Hotel das SALZ eröffnet in Salzburg Lehen

Link