BWM Architects

De Suche Menu

The stage is set for the remodelled Hotel am Konzerthaus – “Backstage on stage” is its apt motto

The Hotel am Konzerthaus in Vienna is located in the immediate vicinity of such cultural institutions as the Akademietheater, Konzerthaus and Musikverein. This exclusive location provided the inspiration for the new design concept of the restaurant and lobby. With its decidedly theatrical flair, this extraordinary hotel concept was developed under the fitting motto of “Backstage on stage”.

Looking beyond the newly designed roof projecting over the entrance, visitors already feel the lure of the hotel’s enticing new interior. The first thing they notice when entering the lobby is the “Cloud of Light”, a scintillating glass object consisting of countless hand-made elements – a modern take on the classic chandelier. The eye is then immediately drawn to the elevators, which are surrounded by a dramatic red velvet curtain and fitted with shiny brass doors. From here, a left turn will take visitors to the reception and lobby, while the entrance area merges smoothly into a lounge area on the right.

Erich Bernard
The design of the bar and restaurant areas, which merge into each other, draws on elements that can be found in typical Viennese houses as well as in the nearby theatres.
Erich Bernard

Typical Viennese interior

“The design of the bar and restaurant areas, which merge into each other, draws on elements that can be found in typical Viennese houses as well as in the nearby theatres,” explains BWM project manager Aleš Košak. The Viennese elements include parquet flooring, brass, marble, velvet, and spherical lamps. They are complemented by new, exciting ideas with great charisma such as the bar, a centrepiece with an enormous stage presence that is clad in shiny, pleated brass and features a red velvet “show-time curtain”. This curtain not only conveys theatrical flair, but can also be opened or closed in accordance with the bar’s opening hours. Pillars encased in conical tiles enhance the overall look.

Velvet & Séparée

On the otherwise open ceiling, coffered ceiling panels define separate areas and zone the room, with a suspended mirrored ceiling marking the lounge area. Private booths or loges reminiscent of the theatre are tucked away behind a long panelled wooden wall that covers the entire length of the room. A long bench made of golden-coloured velvet runs along the full length of the window side. An anthracite-coloured velvet curtain separates the so-called “free-flow” seating area in the middle of the restaurant from the open show kitchen. A brass frame draws attention to the kitchen and allows guests to observe the chef at work.

Final team lunch.
Final team lunch.

Private dining

Guests looking for a little more privacy can use the partitioned dining room situated opposite the bar. Surrounded by floral wallpaper and portraits of famous hotel guests, the table in this private dining area can seat up to 14 people. In addition, guests can make use of the two private booths for a more intimate setting: the first booth, with a feminine flair, is a tribute to the modern female globetrotter; the dark-green second both, ideal for night owls, calls to mind long theatre nights. The latter can also be converted into a stage as needed.

Showstopping rooms

The “Backstage on Stage” motto is also reflected in the 200 or so rooms. While the black areas such as the entrance and bathroom entrance stand for “backstage”, eye-catching materials such as velvet, wood and brass characterise the “onstage” areas. The most striking element in the rooms is an extraordinary brass disc. It is almost 2m in diameter, has an incorporated television, and is also a magnetic wall that bears a personal welcome letter from the hotel’s general manager when guests arrive. On top of that, the minibar almost steals the show; it is a free-standing object, a kind of “Pandora’s box”.

Task
Neugestaltung der Gastronomieflächen und Allgemeinflächen im EG (Lobby, Restaurant, Konferenz, Rezeption Küche und Back-off House Bereiche) sowie Refurbishment der rund 200 Zimmer

Status
Completion 04/2019

Client
AINA Hospitality

Category
4 Stars

Area
1160 m² (GF)

Rooms
200

BWM Team
Erich Bernard, Markus Flägner, Aleš Košak, Eleni Nagl, Marlies Klauser, Ismail Berkel

Image credit
BWM Architekten/Christoph Panzer

Participants

General contractor
Projekt Kraft Facility Management

Site supervision tender
Hannes Schild

Domestic engineering and electrical planning
PME Technisches Büro für Klimatechnik Gesellschaft m.b.H.

Structural engineering
DI Gerhard Hejkrlik

Fire protection
Norbert Rabl Ziviltechniker GmbH

Light planning
Pokorny Lichtagentur

Light object
Glashütte Comploj

Awards

Vote now!

19 June 2019

Vote now!

Last chance to vote! The voting for the International Hotel & Property Award is only open until the 26 June! Vote now for our project „Hotel am Konzerthaus / Restaurant Apron" shortlisted in the category "Restaurant within a Hotel, Europe“.

On the shortlist!

11 June 2019

On the shortlist!

The BWM project "Hotel am Konzerthaus / Restaurant Apron“ that has already received the Austrian Interior Design Award has been shortlisted for the category "Restaurant within a Hotel, Europe“ in the International Hotel & Property Award. Voting is now live! Cast your votes here!

Won: Austrian Interior Design Award

14 May 2019

Won: Austrian Interior Design Award

BWM Architekten were pleased to be awarded first place during the Austrian Interior Design Award ceremony at Salzburg fair! From a total of 278 projects the BWM interior concept of „Backstage on Stage“ for the Hotel am Konzerthaus has won in the category “interior design – gastronomy, hotel business".

Press

3 June 2019

Architektur & Bau Forum

Design aus Leidenschaft

PDF

16 May 2019

DiePresse.com

Restaurant Apron gewinnt den Austria Interior Design Award

PDF

17 January 2019

CUBE Magazin

Backstage on Stage

PDF

19 December 2018

HISE Magazine

Hotelski Interierji

PDF

BWM Architekten

En Suche Menu
Hotel am Konzerthaus MGallery by Sofitel / Restaurant Apron
Hotel am Konzerthaus MGallery by Sofitel / Restaurant Apron
Hotel am Konzerthaus MGallery by Sofitel / Restaurant Apron
Hotel am Konzerthaus MGallery by Sofitel / Restaurant Apron
Hotel am Konzerthaus MGallery by Sofitel / Restaurant Apron
Hotel am Konzerthaus MGallery by Sofitel / Restaurant Apron
Hotel am Konzerthaus MGallery by Sofitel / Restaurant Apron
Hotel am Konzerthaus MGallery by Sofitel / Restaurant Apron
Hotel am Konzerthaus MGallery by Sofitel / Restaurant Apron
Hotel am Konzerthaus MGallery by Sofitel / Restaurant Apron
Hotel am Konzerthaus MGallery by Sofitel / Restaurant Apron
Hotel am Konzerthaus MGallery by Sofitel / Restaurant Apron

Vorhang auf für das neu gestaltete Hotel am Konzerthaus. „Backstage on Stage“, so das Motto am Heumarkt

Das Hotel am Konzerthaus befindet sich in unmittelbarer Nähe zu Kulturinstitutionen wie Akademietheater, Konzerthaus oder Musikverein – das neue Konzept für die Gestaltung von Restaurant und Lobby entstand aus dieser Standortanalyse. Am Heumarkt 35-37 dreht sich alles um die geselligen Momente, um die Auftritte und die Zeitspannen im Leben, in denen Leute zusammenkommen und offen sind für neue Begegnungen: „Backstage on stage“ lautete das Motto dieses Hotelkonzepts daher aus gutem Grund.

Bereits die neu gestalteten Vordächer am Eingang zum Hotel am Konzerthaus und dem Restaurant „Apron“ lassen von Außen das neue Interieur erahnen. Beim Betreten der Lobby fällt der Blick als Erstes auf das funkelnde Glasobjekt „Cloud of Light“ bestehend aus unzähligen, von Hand gefertigten Elementen – eine moderne Interpretation des klassischen Kronleuchters. Ebenfalls eindrucksvoll gestaltet sich das Bild der von einem roten Samtvorhang umfassten Aufzüge, allesamt mit glänzenden Messingtüren bestückt. Linkerhand befinden sich Rezeption und Lobby, rechts geht der Eingangsbereich fließend in den Loungebereich über.

Erich Bernard
Die Gestaltung des Raumes, bei dem Bar- und Restaurantbereich ineinander greifen, knüpft an Elemente an, die in typischen Wiener Häusern, aber auch in den nahegelegenen Theatern zu finden sind.
Erich Bernard

Typisches Wiener Interieur 

„Die Gestaltung des Raumes, bei dem Bar- und Restaurantbereich ineinander greifen, knüpft an Elemente an, die in typischen Wiener Häusern, aber auch in den nahegelegenen Theatern zu finden sind“, führt BWM Architekt Erich Bernard aus. Zu diesen gruppieren sich neue, aufregende Ideen, die ruhig den Eindruck einer starken Präsenz hervorrufen dürfen – wie auf einer Bühne. Dazu gehört die Bar, die als Center Piece im Zentrum der Aufmerksamkeit im Gastraum des Restaurants „Apron“ steht und mit glänzendem, gefaltetem Messing verkleidet ist. Harmonisch ergänzt wird das Gesamtbild von den umstehenden Säulen, die mit konischen Fliesen ummantelt sind. Ein so genannter „Showtime-Curtain“ aus rotem Samt vermittelt weiters Theater-Flair und kann gleichzeitig ganz praktisch den Öffnungszeiten der Bar entsprechend auf- oder zugezogen werden. Eine abgehängte Spiegeldecke definiert den Loungebereich und schafft noch zusätzliches Bar-Feeling. Die offene Schauküche wird mittels eines Messingrahmens nochmals hervorgehoben und gewährt den Gästen Einblick in die Kochtöpfe.

Samt & Séparée

Zu den Wiener Elementen zählen Tafelparkettboden, Messing, Marmor, Samt und kugelförmige Leuchten. An der ansonsten offenen Decke definieren die kassettierten Deckenfelder gesonderte Bereiche und zonieren den Raum. Die lang gestreckte holzvertäfelte Wand, die den Raum über die gesamte Länge zusammenfasst, öffnet sich zu den dahinterliegenden Séparées bzw. Logen – ganz wie im Theater. Die komplette Fensterseite wird von einer langen Bank aus goldenem Samt begleitet. In der Mitte des Restaurants wurde ein so genannter „Free flow“-Sitzbereich installiert, den ein anthrazitfarbener Samtvorhang von der offenen Schauküche trennt.

Abschließendes Team-Essen.
Abschließendes Team-Essen.

Privat Dinieren

Wer gerne etwas mehr unter sich ist bzw. in geschlossener Gesellschaft speisen möchte, kann sich in einen privaten Diningroom zurückziehen. Gegenüber der Bar gelegen, findet hier eine Tafel von 14 Personen umrahmt von floralen  Tapeten und Porträts berühmter Hotelgäste inmitten einer Gartenlandschaft Platz. Darüberhinaus bieten zwei Nischen Raum für Privatsphäre – einmal als Hommage an die moderne Weltenbummlerin im femininen Design gehalten, einmal als Reminiszenz langer Theaternächte in dunkles Grün getaucht, ideal für Nachtschwärmer. Diese Nische kann nach Bedarf auch zu einer Bühne umfunktioniert werden.

Alles ist möglich an diesem Ort des Austauschs: Unwichtiges wird grell akzentuiert, Nebensächliches gerät plötzlich in den Mittelpunkt der Aufmerksamkeit. Immer aber ist das Design aufregend und prickelnd wie ein kühles Glas Champagner.

Bühnenreife Zimmer

Das Motto „Backstage on Stage“ zieht sich auch in den rund 200 Zimmern durch. Schwarz für die „Backstage“-Bereiche wie Entree oder Badezimmer-Eingang, augenfällige Materialien wie Samt, Holz und Messing für „on Stage“. Zentrales Hingucker-Element im Zimmer, die beeindruckende Messing-Platte von knapp 2 Metern Durchmesser mit integriertem Fernseher, gleichzeitig nutzbar als Magnetwand mit jeweils persönlichem Willkommens-Schreiben des Hausherren. Die Minibar wurde ebenfalls vor den Vorhang geholt und entsprechend einer „Box der Pandora“ als freistehendes Objekt inszeniert.

Aufgabe
Neugestaltung der Gastronomieflächen und Allgemeinflächen im EG (Lobby, Restaurant, Konferenz, Rezeption Küche und Back-off House Bereiche) sowie Refurbishment der rund 200 Zimmer

Status
Fertigstellung 04/2019

Auftraggeber
AINA Hospitality

Kategorie
4 Sterne

Fläche
1160 m² (EG)

Zimmer
200

BWM Team
Erich Bernard, Markus Flägner, Aleš Košak, Eleni Nagl, Marlies Klauser, Ismail Berkel

Bildnachweis
BWM Architekten/Christoph Panzer

Projektbeteiligte

GU
Projekt Kraft Facility Management

ÖBA Ausschreibung
Hannes Schild

Haustechnik und Elektroplanung
PME Technisches Büro für Klimatechnik GmbH

Statik
Dipl.-Ing. Gerhard Hejkrlik

Brandschutz
Norbert Rabl Ziviltechniker GmbH

Lichtplanung
Pokorny Lichtagentur

Lichtobjekt
Glashütte Comploj

Auszeichnungen

Jetzt abstimmen!

19 Juni 2019

Jetzt abstimmen!

Letzte Chance – das Voting für den International Hotel & Property Award ist nur noch bis 26. Juni offen! Jetzt abstimmen für unser Projekt "Hotel am Konzerthaus / Restaurant Apron", shortlisted in der Kategorie "Restaurant within a Hotel, Europe“.

Auf der Shortlist!

11 Juni 2019

Auf der Shortlist!

Das bereits mit dem Austrian Interior Design Award ausgezeichnete Projekt "Hotel am Konzerthaus / Restaurant Apron" hat es auf die Shortlist des International Hotel & Property Award – Kategorie "Restaurant within a Hotel, Europe“ – geschafft. Jetzt mitvoten!

Ausgezeichnete Arbeit!

14 Mai 2019

Ausgezeichnete Arbeit!

BWM Architekten durften sich über den 1. Platz beim Austrian Interior Design Award freuen! Aus gesamt 278 Projekten wurde das BWM-Konzept für das Hotel am Konzerthaus unter dem Motto "Backstage on Stage" als Sieger in der Kategorie "Innenarchitektur – Gastronomie, Hotellerie" ausgewählt. Die Verleihung fand im Rahmen der Messe Salzburg statt.

Presse

31 Mai 2021

More Than Design

Bühne frei für das neugestaltete Hotel am Konzerthaus

Link

3 Juni 2019

Architektur & Bau Forum

Design aus Leidenschaft

PDF

16 Mai 2019

DiePresse.com

Restaurant Apron gewinnt den Austria Interior Design Award

PDF

17 Januar 2019

CUBE Magazin

Backstage on Stage

PDF

19 Dezember 2018

HISE Magazine

Hotelski Interierji

PDF